Priorities

I just finished helping a teacher/coach client of mine with an incredibly tough task. I had to help him write a eulogy he will deliver tomorrow for one of his players. A player I knew well. We both cried as we talked about the “why’s” of tragedies such as these. An 18 year old killed in a car while driving after having too much to drink; driving too fast and without a seat belt. These last two days have prompted me to reflect on our educational system’s misplaced priorities.

I lament about the possibilities of this young man if the Life Success program that I conducted in his school had not been cut from the budget; he would have been enrolled in that program. Is it more important that we make sure our students “test” well in science and math so we can keep up with the world while not making it a priority to teach the proper life skills? We live in a fast paced society and young people need to be equipped with the proper decision making skills to keep up with the monumental amount of life altering decisions they make on a daily basis.

Today, I cannot help but think that this young man would be alive today if my progressive program for working with young people had not been cut. However, I will not dwell on it because it would be a waste of time and energy.

I am optimistic that teaching Life Success will be a priority in schools all across the nation in the near future. I intend to be a catalyst for that occurring. As I finish writing this tonight and head out to the wake to say goodbye to this young man I am sad. Tomorrow I will be more determined than ever to initiate change.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Priorities”

  1. Kaitlin Friedmann Says:

    What a terrible tragedy. How appropriate that you named this post “Priorities”…let’s all keep sight of what’s really important in life – thank you for writing about this.

  2. Reggie Greene / The Logistician Says:

    As you know Kevin, I have a little different slant on things. I call myself the Logistician because I like to focus on getting things done. I also feel that there are lots of things that we can learn from the physical universe/physics to assist us in understanding humans.

    I think that humans thrive on occupying their time with some activity which they consider to be of value. I also think that humans like to feel that what they’re doing today will yield some positive returns down the road. We need to ensure that we occupy the time of our youth with more meaningful activities, which instill in them the value of thinking of the greater good, and less on their personal issues.

    For example, giving a juvenile offender a younger juvenile offender charge for whom he is responsible, significantly reduces the incident of recidivism. I also believe that more programs focusing on innovation and technology are the way to go.

    Glad to see that you are still trying to have an impact out there.

Leave a Reply

